The Beginning

So yesterday I left for England, had a nice flight over by myself…watched Prince Caspian..except didn’t get to see the ending because it was all goofy and cut off right near the end…sad day.   Then the lay over, which basically I got off the plane, and walked to my gate.   I felt like I was missing a step, as in a really long line that Laura warned me about.  I guess not.   Anyways, fell asleep on that flight which was close to an hour, not to shabby and then looked for Judy.  ahha that was fun.   I called her on her mobile phone from a pay phone,  and everyone knows how I am with phones…I don’t use them unless I really have too.   So I asked one clerk what change I should use for the pay phone, and then I asked another clerk how to dial..and woot woot I got through.  Turns out Judy was running between terminal areas because my Kiwi friend Jessica (New Zealand)  was arriving at the same time..so she was trying to get to one of us when we came out of the gate.  England is beautiful, at least from what I have seen already,  the houses are quaint, the pubs grand,  and the driving so not American.   For now Jessica and I are staying at a Lifehope center, where the international people who come into England can stay.  It’s connected to the church Judy goes to.  (Judy is the overseas director, helps coordinate all of us who come in)  Jessica and I stay here until Thursday which is when we start training up, and move to a hotel room I think.     So we were shown the rooms, and then Judy took us out to eat at a nice pub where I had this amazing salad..the chicken was breaded in coconut flakes, and then it had a mango salsa.  mm yeah twas good.   So that’s about it.   I’ve figured out there’s a 5 hour time difference between here and Ohio..so it’s not to bad.   I can already tell this will be a wonderful experience,  even with being unsure as to what we can do and not do…but those will iron out over time.    Thank you all for your prayers and keep them up!!!!!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Budy Noodle

     /  25/08/2008

    I love you so much Erin…what a wonderful experience. It’s not a dream anymore! It’s real, and it’s you living it! Make amazing memories.

    Missing you in a good way!

    Reply
  2. Meiche

     /  27/08/2008

    Yay! It is so nice to read your post! It’s great that you got online so quickly… it’s like you didn’t even show up missing on the grid 😉

    These times are going to be so exciting. I am looking forward to continuing hearing more about what’s happening.

    I also love those God events you were talking about in your last post. Doesn’t it make your heart so excited, and solidify your knowing that you are in the right place?

    God bless you… keep your head space in Him and You’ll be stable through everything.
    Smiles.

    Reply
  3. Jenny

     /  04/09/2008

    I miss you, Erin!!
    Can you call yet? So you had coconut chicken. MMmmm~ Yummy!
    PS – I met a Kiwi yesterday – one of my English professors.
    Then I met a girl today in the bathroom before my comparative politics class who went to Newcastle, Aus for study abroad and knew some of my friends there! How crazy is that! What a small world.
    PPS – I’m seriously considering study abroad in England. But I won’t be able to do it until next fall, most likely. 😦
    Maybe you can just come back, then! ? ? (*HOPEFUL EYES*)

    Miss you. Call me when you can. Or give me your # and I’ll call you.

    Reply
  4. Kristin

     /  04/09/2008

    Hi Erin!! Thought about you alot today and I miss your smiling face. Hope your training is going well. I have enjoyed reading your blog and I found out how to add it to my favorites:) You know how computer illiterate I am.

    We are praying for you daily. We all strive to serve the Lord and do his work… You are an example for others!!

    Hugs,
    Kristin and Family

    Reply

Leave a comment