sometimes words are enough

As of late, I have found that I have a couple of most hated phrases

whether it be ‘At least we know where he is.’ or ‘I’m sorry for your loss.’

I know they are meant  kindly and I do appreciate the heart of these sentiments, but after hearing them over and over again maybe you can understand where I’m coming from.

 

Today was different.

 

I saw an old friend today and I about cried for she had heard about my dad’s passing  All she said was  ‘I’m sorry Erin… I am so sorry, he was a great man and a great father.  Getting to see you when you were younger and even now, you can tell…he raised a wonderful daughter, and those go hand in hand.’

 

 

My eyes welled up

but my heart smiled.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

