Thanksgiving

“Each friend represents a world in us, a world possibly not born until they arrive, and it is only by this meeting that a new world is born.” ~Anaïs Nin

Thanksgiving is coming upon us once again.  A time of being with family and friends and reminiscing about all that has happened this past year.  As I look back and think about the memories, I shake my head in disbelief and amazement that I have survived all I’ve been through so far.

I’ve been blessed with the friends in my life.  I realize this every year, and each year I am reminded that I do not deserve the people I have in my life but somehow I have them!  Each person in my life has opened up a whole other world, they bring something new and complex and make life so much more interesting.

I’m thankful for my friends back home, for the support they show me even when I’m not home as often as I use to be.  They are a constant in my life, and they bring joy to my heart when I see them.

I’m thankful for Laura and Jenny, my two best friends that I know will always be there for me, even if we are separated by 12-14 hours.  Contact is sometimes few and far between but I know that whenever we are together it’s like we haven’t been apart.  These are two girls that I would never trade and am so thankful that God gave me.  Their honesty and sometimes even bluntness is what I need for a good dose of reality check once in a while.

I’m thankful for my friends in England, Scotland, and Ireland.  My life would not be the same without each and every one of them.  I have no idea what life would be like without them.  The love, support and encouragement these past four years has gotten me through many ups and downs.  Through many moments of sorrow and grief, I have felt love and prayers from them even with an ocean separating us.

And my friends at school?  Well they are all nut jobs but I love them.  I was so scared that I wouldn’t find anyone when I first started.  Now I’m sitting in the living room whilst watching 3 Men and a Baby, and once again thinking how blessed I am with the people in my life here. We have had some fun and crazy times and the memories created are ones that will last a lifetime.

I cherish them all, and once again am reminded just how much God has blessed me with the friendships in my life.

Friendship is what keeps me going, what helps me keep sane.  Even with all the crazies in my life, but without their craziness life would be mundane.  And who wants a mundane life?  I certainly don’t!

Leave a comment

Leave a comment